The 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition

The 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition

The 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition was held in collaboration with Vidya Intellectual Property Foundation on 25th August at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. The Moot Court Competition was graced by many eminent personalities from the legal fraternity including the Judges of Delhi High Court. Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) Ravindra Bhat, the Chief Guest of the competition and (Mr.) C. Hari Shankar, the Guest of Honour, who inaugurated the event. Hon’ble Justice Bhat gave a small speech to the students, enlightening them about his experience on the interface between IP laws and Competition Law.

All of the 16 teams from reputed law schools across India competed with full spirit and enthusiasm to win the Flame of Creativity trophy; amalgamating legal expertise with innovative thinking and creativity.

The event was also graced by the presence of Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) J R Midha and (Mr.) Vibhu Bakhru.

Justice J R Midha was a keynote speaker at the competition who gave a very lively and insightful speech to the students participating in the competition on judicial conscience and his experience in Intellectual Property Law.

The Semi-Final Rounds were judged by noteworthy personalities from various industries and institutions – Vaibhav Gaggar, Yogesh Pai, Chitra Iyer, Navita Chaubal, Nishant Sharma and Samita Choudhary.

The teams that made it to the finals were Amity Law School, Delhi and Gandhinagar National Law University. Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) Rajiv Shakdher and (Mr.) Jayant Nath presided on the Bench for the finals.

The valedictory address was given by Hon’ble Ms. Justice Prathiba Singh who motivated the students by sharing some anecdotes from her college days. Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rajiv Shakdher also addressed the students by encouraging them to attend and witness court proceedings.

The winning team of the 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition was Gandhinagar National Law University comprising of Aarathi M Krishan, Mishti Dubey and Yash Malviya.

The team from National Law Institute University, Bhopal bagged the Best Memorial award as well as the Best Speaker Award, which was won by Ms. Charu Vyas.

Also, the competition unveiled the launch of a Special Purpose Vehicle called Anand & Anand & Gaggar. Stay tuned for more updates on this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.